Penny Boxall is the author of two collections: Ship of the Line and Who Goes There? (Valley Press, 2018). She won the 2016 Edwin Morgan Poetry Award and the Elmet Trust Competition; the Mslexia/PBS Women’s Poetry Competition 2018; and a 2019 Northern Writers’ Award. She holds an MA with distinction in Creative Writing (Poetry) from UEA, and has had work featured in The Rialto, The Sunday Times, The North, The Literateur, Magma, Mslexia, The Dark Horse and Gutter. She has been shortlisted for an Eric Gregory Award. In 2017 she was Writer-in-Residence at Gladstone’s Library and a Hawthornden Fellow, and in 2018 she held a residency at the Chateau de Lavigny, Switzerland. She was shortlisted for the Alpine Fellowship in 2019. Her novel for children was longlisted in the 2018 Mslexia Children’s Novel Competition.

7 thoughts on “About

  1. Pingback: Poetry Award 2016 – Edwin Morgan Trust

  2. I’ve just been introduced to your work via York University’s FutureLearn course ‘How to read a poem’. I found your thoughtful piece that they used really helpful, and I’m planning to enjoy reading more of your work.

  3. Bryn Raven says:

    Your piece on ‘How to read a poem’ was liberating for me. It helped me jump a few hurdles I had shied from. I look forward to looking at poetry as you did. Tee feeling and meaning have been my main focus up till now. I am looking forward to the jump! I am grateful to Uni of York’s Future Learn course for making me aware of you and reading some of your work.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s